2013: A Year of Action

nike-just-do-it

Richard Branson (Founder, Virgin Group) recently posted this. As someone who is an obsessive list-maker, this really hit home for me. I can’t tell you how many half-written drafts and to-do lists are saved on my iPhone, on sticky notes (virtual ones on my MacBook and physical ones on my desk). As Mr. Branson points out, having lists isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It provides focus and direction… but, in many cases, can also cause procrastination. Writing it down gives us an excuse to walk away and come back to it “at some point” or “some day” because we have it recorded somewhere.

Enough of that.

I boldly declare 2013 to be a year of action. To stay committed to my goals by making them happen. To hone my writing by hitting publish instead of edit ad nauseum. To fight inertia and ride a positive wave of momentum… and being open to where it takes me. To not simply sit back and be inspired by the actions of others, but to do things myself that may inspire others. To discover what I’m truly, madly, deeply passionate about and pursue it with enthusiasm, focus, and determination. To take those small steps toward big goals with long journeys. To leave a positive legacy on this beautiful world. To be humble and grateful, always. 

Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

